Tags


As far back as I can really remember I had an interest in my family history.  Perhaps it stemmed from my father telling me stories of when he was a boy or his decision to meet his biological parents when I was 6 years old.  I recall with many of my visits with my grandmothers asking them if I could look at their photo albums and asking them who the people were in the old photos and to tell me stories about their lives.  I really do not know what specific event may have influenced my interest in genealogy.  But I do know that when I was 11 I visited my great Uncle Leonard in Virginia, he owned an antique store in small rural town, and he took us on a tour of where he and my Grandmother were raised after their parents died.  A few months later I wrote to him and asked for more information on the Lineberry history.  His response to me treated me as an adult with a serious interest and he provided me with the information I requested.  As an 11 year old I didn’t have the skills to do any research but I saved that information and many years later I pulled it out and started my quest for more family histories. Right now on my genealogy website are not only the specific lineage information but also letters and photos I acquired.  Some of them I can look at and read again and again.

What interests you about family history, the pictures, the stories or what?

