Tags

,


1942-georgeGeorge Lineberry, born in 1912, was only two years older than Virginia. George was closest in age to Virginia and she loved him dearly. He never married or had children, instead of having a home he traveled hobo style into Canada and everywhere. He enlisted on Feb 6, 1941 and settled in the  101st Airborne and he was a Paratrooper.  My Grammy remembered that before he left for training he took her to see “Gone with the Wind”.  (Note from wikipedia: From December 1939 to June 1940, the movie played only advance-ticket road show engagements at a limited number of theaters, before it went into general release in 1941.)  Then before he went oversees he visited Galax, Virginia and took lots of pictures of his friends and family and told many of them that he knew he would not return. In fact, he was killed on September 18, 1944 in Arnhem, Holland during the Operations Market Garden.  My mother remembers hearing that George was parachuted down, landed in a tree and was bayoneted.  The short video below is about the 101st on September 18 and includes a scene that may reflect what happened to George.

Below is a transcription of what may be the last letter that George wrote.  To view others visit my website.

envelope Sept 11, 1944

England

Sept 8

Hello folks,

Just a few lines to let you know I rec. your letter today was glad to here from you  I rec. your package several days ago the cakes were as fresh as they were when you brought them out of the oven  were they good.  You ask me what I wanted for Christmas – not a thing, I have plenty of socks an things like that just some thing in the line of candy.

it has been raining of an on for the last two weeks an cold  we are sitting around a fire.

there are one thing I would like to know are you getting my bonds and money orders  you never say I have sent several money orders I don’t know if I should send it or not if you don’t get them I wish you would tell me  I sent 29-14-10 – one hundred twenty dollars thats pounds-shillins & pennies  you ask me where I jumped in France it was between Hirsville an Boutteville north of Carentan.

I have some more maps to send some day.  Well this is about all I can think of now, an please tell me if you have got May $150 Aug. 50, I know I sent some before then but have lost the receipt, 37.50 in bond since April  I found 2 more 200.00 in April 100.00 in Dec. 43.

tell everybody hello  as ever Geo.

Virginia’s daughter, Donna, remembers “I had been playing outside the house on Hardin Drive and came in the front door to find Mother (Virginia) sitting on the sofa sobbing with a crumpled piece of paper in her hands. I later learned and understood it was a telegram letting her know of her brother George’s death in Arnhem, Holland during a paratrooper jump late in World War II. He was the closest brother to her in age, being two years older than she was. George’s body was not returned to the US until January 27, 1949 but the family decided to hold a memorial service on March 11, 1945. Hugh Bumpas was the minister who led the service (he was also the minister for my marriage years later). The family gathered at Bernita’s house on Harvey. The younger cousins were left at Bernita’s while the older family members went to the memorial service. There was a huge bowl of sugared strawberries on the kitchen counter and the cousins decided to have some while we waited. Although I think everyone had some, I had an enormous amount of strawberries and actually finished them off. I got in a lot of trouble when everyone came back from the memorial service.”

PFC George Lineberry information from the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration on the Electronic Army Serial Number Merged File, ca. 1938 – 1946 (Enlistment Records).  Also find him listed on the roll of honor 101st Airborne 502nd Parachute Infantry Regiment.

If you have information on the 101st Airborne 502 Infantry during the time that George would have been a member I would really like to hear from you.

