Tags

,


Continuing the quest for information on a series of photos that I blogged about on Saturday, (see Casing, Mining, Or…), I have another photo to add to that batch.  This one is quite different.  It says ‘Coalwood’ on the back of it, which was in West Virginia where the Carter Coal Company that George worked for was located.

Click to enlarge

I would guess that these are two of my great uncle’s friends and/or coworkers from Carter Coal Company in 1936 or 1937.  Upon first glance at this photo I only noticed that these two fellas are happy and are arm in arm, which seems especially odd when you pay attention to the details.

Closeup

In this 3.5″ x 2.3″ photo the guy in the overalls on the left is pointing a gun at the other guy.  They appear to be joking and at ease with one another.  The label on the side says “To Jail Birds.”  I do not know what the joke was, I don’t know if that is a real or toy gun and I don’t know what the label means.

It’s interesting to see the scenery in this photo to compare with the photos in my post from Saturday.  It looks like the trees are full and there is snow on the ground.  The men are standing on a wooden bridge over some train tracks.  Perhaps further investigation can place more closely where they may have been standing.