Tags

,


We attended church regularly, including Sunday & Wednesday evening and I’m sure we had Christmas concerts but I do not recall attending a special service at Christmas.  So, it must be that none of the Baptist churches we attended offered a special service around Christmas until I was in my teens.

Sometime in the mid 1970’s I attended a meaningful service at Christmas time.  That particular evening as we arrived we each received a candle with paper surrounding the candle to catch the drippings.  Soon after the service began all the lights in the sanctuary were turned out and one candle was lit.  Then from that single candle all the others, one-by-one, were lit.  The ambiance of the sanctuary with the candle light dancing around the room and people singing carols was remarkable.  The candle lighting service was to welcome Christmas and the birth of Jesus, the light of the world.  Since that time, I have been to several similar services and each one has been very moving.

This is my submission for the Advent Calendar Christmas Memories 2009.