Tags

,


It’s time for Saturday Night Genealogy Fun again!!  Here’s Genea-Musing’s assignment for us:

  1. How old is one of your grandfathers now, or how old would he be if he had lived? Divide this number by 4 and round the number off to a whole number. This is your “roulette number.”
  2. Use your pedigree charts or your family tree genealogy software program to find the person with that number in your ancestral name list (some people call it an “ahnentafel”). Who is that person?
  3. Tell us three facts about that person in your ancestral name list with the “roulette number.”
  4. Write about it in a blog post on your own blog, in a Facebook note or comment, or as a comment on this blog post.
  5. If you do not have a person’s name for your “roulette number” then spin the wheel again – pick a grandmother, or yourself, a parent, a favorite aunt or cousin, or even your children!

My grandfather James Thomas “Tommy” Willis would have turned 106 and 1/4 years old in October 2010.  Dividing that by 4 results in 26.5625 that I’ll round up to 27.

My Ahnetafel 27 is my great grandmother Mary “Mollie” Monroe Sanford.  She was the fourth of seven children born to Asa and Martha Ann Sanford nee Jean born on February 27, 1857 in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.   Mollie married William Thomas Welch on January 5, 1879 in Fayette, Fayette, Alabama.   They had nine children and my great grandmother, Mellie, was their first child.  Mollie died in Fulton, Itawamba, Mississippi, on February 22, 1931 and is buried in the Union Grove Cemetery there next to her husband.  That’s more than 3 facts, do I get extra credit?

Interestingly, it was just this past summer that my mother and I visited Mollie and William’s graves.  Additionally, we identified a photo of her and her husband and, due to my mother’s research, have learned much more about Mollie’s ancestry.  So, I suppose my Mom actually deserves the extra credit.

Further Readings